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Office of
The Board of Assessors
870 Meraine Street
Marshfield, MA 02050
(781) 834-5585

CLAUSE —41A — Senior Deferral

Must be 65 years of age by July 1, 2020.

Must own and occupy the property on July 1, 2020.

Must file annually.

Must have been domiciled in Massachusetts for the preceding 10 years
Must have owned and occupied subject property or other property in
Massachusetts for at least 5 years.

Earned and unearned income cannot exceed $40,000.00

Deferred amount plus the 2 % interest is paid back upon death of
homeowner or sale of property.
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What do the Assessors need??

» Birth Certificate (First time filing, only)

» Income Tax Returns or Documentation of Income — examples are — Pension
Statement for 2019, Social Security Statement 2019 (109% Form), etc.

» If domicile is held in trust, applicant must satisfy ownership requirement if
he/she is a trustee or co-owner of the trust and possess a sufficient beneficial
interest in the domicile through the trust.

» If there is a mortgage on the property, we must have a letter from the bank
allowing you to enter into the Deferral program.

What can the Assessors do??

> Able to defer a portion or all of your taxes.

» Must vote on it annually.

> Application should be filed after January 1% but can be ﬁled as late as
3 months after the mailing of the Actual Bill (3™ Quarter) — Deadline is
April 1, 2021

For further information, please contact the Assessors’ Office (@ (781) 834-5585




State Tax Form 97 The Commonwealth of Massachusetts Assessors” Use only
Revised 11/2016 Date Received
Marshfield Application No.
Name of City or Town Parcel Id.
SENIORS 65 AND OLDER

FISCAL YEAR _ 2021 APPLICATION FOR PROPERTY TAX DEFERRAL
General Laws Chapter 59, § 5, CLAUSE 41A

THIS APPLICATION IS NOT OPEN TO PUBLIC INSPECTION
(See General Laws Chapter 59, § 60)

r. _! Return to:  Board of Assessors

Must be filed with assessors on or before April 1, or 3 months
after actual (not preliminary) tax bills ave mailed for fiscal year
if later. Tax Deferral and Recovery Agreement

(Form 97-1) must accompany application unless already on
. file and persons with interest in property remain the same.

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete all sections fully. Please print or type.

A. IDENTIFICATION.

Name of Applicant: Marital Status:
Telephone Number Date of birth
If first year of application, attach copy of birth certificate.
Legal residence (domicile) on July 1, 2020 Mailing address (if different)
No.  Street City/Town Zip Code
Location of property: No. of dwelting units: 1]_|2[ B[_Ja| |other

Did you own the property on July 1, 2020 and for the prior 10 years? Yes D No D
If no, st the other properties you owned and/or occupied during the past 10 years,

Address Dates Owned Occupied

] [
1 L

Have you been granted any exemption in any other city or town (MA or other) for this year? Yes[l No L__'
If yes, name of city or town Amount exentpied $

Amount of tax you are seeking to defer this year $

Continue list on attachent in same formaf as necessary.

DISPOSITION OF ATPPLICATION {ASSESSORS” USE ONLY)

Ownership GRANTE Assessed Tax §
Occupancy DENIED Deferred Tax  §
Age DEEMED DENIEDEI Adjusted Tax
Income Board of Assessors
Date Voted/ Deemed Denied
Certificate No.
Date Cert./Notice Sent
Date:

FILING THIS FORM DOES NOT STAY THE COLLECTION OF YOUR TAXES
THIS FORM APPROVED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF REVENUE




B. PERSONS WITH INTEREST IN PROPERTY.

Did you own the property onjuly 1, 2020 as
Sole owner D Co-owner with spouse only |:] Co-owner with others? D

Was there a mortgage on the property as of July 1, 2020 7 ves No
If yes, amount due on morigage § Nuwme of mortgagee(s)

Was the property subject to a life estate as of July 1, 2020 7 ves I:] No
Ifyes, name(s) of Remnindermen (person(s)receiving property after your death)

Was the property subject to a trust as of July 1, 2020 yes ]_—_—_l No D
If yes, please attach trust instrument including all schedules.

C. GROSS RECEIPTS FROM ALL SOURCES IN PRECEDING CALENDAR YEAR. Copies of your federal and state
income tax returns, and other documentation, may be requested to verify your income.

Applicant & Spouse

Retirement Benefits (Social Security, Railroad, Federal, MA & Pelitical Subdivisions).......... e

Other Pensions and Retirement ALIOWANCES ... veineriiin i ssssssees et sbassseat a4 s ss s s sstraes

Wages, Salaries and other COmPENSAON. ...t st e bbb o

Net Profits from Business, Profession or Property Rentat

Interest ANA DEVIAEIIAS ...t ssrrs s s v es e seerbsbase s h b bR AR RS R OO o4s e s s a s a s a s b s aber

Other Receipts (Capital Gains, Public Assistance, efc.)............ccoooiiniiniin e
TOTALS

D. SIGNATURE. Sign here to complete the application.
This application has been prepared or examined by me. Under the pains and penalties of perjury, I declare that to the
best of my knowledge and belief, this return and all accompanying documents and statements are true, correct and

complete.

Signatlure Date

If signed by agent, attach copy of written authorization to sign on behalf of taxpayer.




TAXPAYER [INFORMATION ABOUT PROPERTY TAX DEFERRAL

SENIOR DEFERRAL. You may be eligible to defer payment of all or a portion of the taxes assessed on property you own
and occupy as your domicile if you meet certain age, ownership, residency and income qualifications, and enter into a tax
deferral agreement with the board of assessors. If you also qualify for a personal exemption, you may defer all or a
portion of the remaining taxes on the property.

WHO MAY FILE AN APPLICATION. You may file an application if as of July 1 you:

Are 65 or older,

Owned and occupied the property as your domicile,

Owned and occupied any property in Massachusetts as your domicile for at least 5 years,

Lived in Massachusetts for at least the prior 10 years, and

Have an annual income not more than $20,000 or a locally adopted income limit. Locally adopted income
limits cannot be more than the income limit that applies under the “circuit breaker” state tax credit for single
seniors who are not heads of households. Your board of assessors can tell you the limit that applies in your
community.
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REPAYMENT. Unlike an exemption, a tax deferral simply allows you to postpone payment of your taxes. If you qualify,
you must enter into a tax deferral agreement that requires the deferred taxes along with interest to be paid in full (1) when
the property is sold or transferred, (2) upon your death, or (3) upon the death of your surviving spouse if he or she
qualifies for a deferral and enters into a new tax deferral agreement. Anyone having any legal interest in the property
must also approve the tax deferral agreements.

Once you have entered into a tax deferral agreement, the assessors will record a statement at the Registry of Deeds. That
statement continues the lien that already exists on your property by law to ensure the payment and collection of your
taxes. Once the deferred taxes are repaid, the Hen is released. However, if the deferred taxes are not repaid when due,
your city or town will then be able to recover the amount by foreclosing on the lien in Land Court,

INTEREST. If you qualify for a deferral in subsequent years, you may defer taxes until the amount due, including
accrued interest, equals 50% of your share of the full and fair cash value of the property. Interest at an annual rate of 8%,
or a locally adopted lower rate, is charged on deferred taxes until the property is sold, your death, or the death of your
surviving spouse if a new agreement has been entered into. Your board of assessors can tell you the rate that applies to
the taxes deferred for each fiscal year. After the property is sold or your death, the annual interest rate increases to 16%
until the deferred taxes are repaid.

WHEN AND WHERE APPLICATION MUST BE FILED. Your application must be filed with the assessors on or before
April 1, or 3 months after the actual bills were mailed for the fiscal year, whichever is later. An application is filed when
(1) received by the assessors on or before the filing deadline, or (2) mailed by United States mail, first class postage
prepaid, to the proper address of the assessors, on or before the filing deadline, as shown by a postmark made by the
United States Postal Service. THIS DEADLINE CANNOT BE EXTENDED OR WAIVED BY THE ASSESSORS FOR ANY
REASON. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS NOT TIMELY FILED, YOU LOSE ALL RIGHTS TO AN EXEMPTION AND THE
ASSESSORS CANNOT BY LAW GRANT YOU ONE.

PAYMENT OF TAX. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your taxes. In some cases, you must pay all
preliminary and actual installments of the tax when due to appeal the assessors’ disposition of your application. Failure
to pay the tax when due may also subject you to interest charges and collection action. To avoid any loss of rights or
additional charges, you should pay the tax as assessed. If a deferral is granted and you have already paid the entire
year's tax as deferred, you will receive a refund of any overpayment,

ASSESSORS DISPOSITION. Upon applying for a deferral, you may be required to provide the assessors with further
information and supporting documentation to establish your eligibility. The assessors have 3 months from the date your
application is filed to act on it unless you agree in writing before that period expires to extend it for a specific time, 1f the
assessors do not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will be notified
in writing whether a deferral has been granied or denied.

APPEAL. You may appeal the disposition of your application to the Appellate Tax Board, or if applicable, the County
Commissioners. The appeal must be filed within 3 months of the date the assessors acted on your application, or the date
your application was deemed denied, whichever is applicable. The disposition notice will provide you with further
information about the appeal procedure and deadline,




