Benefits for 100% Disabled Veterans/ and Widows of
All benefits subject to eligibility criteria

Property Taxes- file at Town Hall Assessors Office (you will need your VA Letter,
DD 214 and Tax Exemption Application available at the Assessor’s Office).

Vehicle Excise Tax Exemption for eligible 100% disabled veterans (Through RMV)

*State Annuity — pays $1000 in Feb and Aug each year (See attachment)

Champ VA for Spouses/children

Total care (along with some long term Healthcare) at VA (Veteran only)

Military ID card * See attachment for appointments, locations and documents needed

Access to Military Bases to include commissary and PX

VA Dental benefits (Veteran only)

Education Benefits (DEA, VocRehab, Frye Scholarship) See VA Website or our Town Veterans Services
Website under “Education”.

Free Life Insurance (time sensitive)

Specially Adaptive Housing Grants (eligibility requirements)

*STATE ANNUITY (*See note)

For 100% Service Connected Disabled Veterans or Widows who receive DIC due to Veteran’s

death by Service Connected Disability, and Parents of certain deceased Veterans.

You may be eligible for a Massachusetts Annuity of $2000.00 paid biannually in February and August ($1000
in each month). You must have the attached application submitted to Boston before December to receive the
first check in February, or by June to receive the first check in August. You will only need to apply once. This
is in addition to any Compensation or DIC benefit you receive. If you have done this once already, please
disregard.

*This program is for Massachusetts residents only and will be terminated if you move out of state. You

must notify the state if you move or become less than 100% for any reason.



Vehicle Excise Tax Exemption
MVE Exemption FAQs
Published in City & Town — June 5, 2014
Updated for subsequent changes in law and RMV policy

23. What individuals, organizations or other entities are exempt from motor vehicle excises for vehicles
they own and register?

The following individuals, organizations or entities qualify for exemption from motor vehicle excise assessed
on vehicles they own and register. G.L. c. 60A, § 1.

A) Governments —The United States, the Commonwealth of Massachusetts or any political subdivision of the
Commonwealth is exempt from excise assessed on all vehicles it owns and registers.

B) Charitable or Religious Organizations —A charitable or religious organization that qualifies for an exemption
from personal property taxes under G.L. c. 59, 8 5, Clause 3 or 10 is exempt from the excise assessed on all
vehicles it owns and registers.

C) Disabled or Blind Veterans — A veteran is exempt from the excise assessed on one vehicle the veteran owns
and registers for personal, non-business use if:

1) The veteran was honorably discharged from peacetime or wartime military service.

2) The Veterans Administration certifies that due to military service the veteran:

a) Has actually lost at least one foot or hand,

b) Has a permanent loss of use of at least one foot or hand, or

) Has permanent impairment of vision meeting certain specifications in at least one eye.

OR

3) The Medical Advisory Board within the Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) has determined that the veteran
has a permanent service-connected disability. The MAB determination is evidenced by a (1) disabled veteran
(DV) plate or (2) MAB letter notifying the veteran of its determination. See Bulletin 2015-01B, Motor Vehicle
Excise Exemptions for Veterans —Revised Registry of Motor Vehicle Procedure.

A veteran who qualifies and owns more than one vehicle may have the exemption applied to the vehicle of
choice. A full exemption is granted even if the veteran is not the sole owner of the vehicle, e.g., co-owns it with
his or her spouse. The surviving spouse of the veteran does not qualify for an exemption.



Disabled American Veteran 100% - DEERS Enrollment

To enroll a 100% Disabled Veteran and eligible family members in DEERS, the following documents is required:
1. Veteran’s Eligibility Letter from the Veterans Affairs showing eligibility, must show 100% service connected
disabled and unemployable

. Veteran — One (1) form of valid unexpired photo identification
. Veteran’s DD Form 214 (copy 4) to verify honorable discharge
. Veteran’s Birth Certificate (Original copy with file number)

. Veteran’s Social Security Card (original, not laminated)

. Marriage Certificate of Veteran and spouse (original copy)

U WN
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. Spouse — Two (2) forms of valid unexpired identification, one form MUST be a photo ID.
. Spouse’s Birth Certificate (Original copy with file number)
9. Spouse’s Social Security Card (original, not laminated)

(o]

10. Child/Children’s — Two (2) forms of valid unexpired identification, one form MUST be a photo ID.
11. Child/Children’s Birth Certificate (Original copy with file number)
12. Child/Children’s Social Security Card (original, not laminated)

Notes:
The Veteran and Veteran’s spouse receive an ID card which provides the veteran authorization to utilize the
commissary, military exchange and MWR only. The ID card will be issued for a period of four years or less.

Veterans and eligible family members are NOT entitled to TRICARE or medical care through the Uniformed
Services Medical Treatment Facility (MTF) with this ID card. Veterans and eligible family members are eligible to
receive medical benefits through the Department of Veteran Affairs Civilian Health and Medical Program.

For renewal of Veteran and Veteran’s spouse’s ID card, please bring two {2) forms of valid unexpired
identification, one form MUST be a photo ID, for each. For renewal of child’s ID, please bring one (1) form of valid
unexpired identification.

Children who are under age 21 who are married or joined active military service are not eligible for benefits
under their sponsor parent.



PLEASE CALL BEFORE GOING TO ANY ID CARD CENTER
NEW ENGLAND ID CARD CENTERS

HOURS MAY VARY -
Site Name Saervice - Jelephone

CONNECTICUT
103rd FW ANG Bradiey AR . . ANG 860-292-2368
Berry-Rosenblatt USARC West Hartford L USAR 860-570-7826
Hartford National Guard Armory - o ARNG ] 860-878-6725
NSB New London : ' ©_USN 860-694-5481 |

. [Us Coast Guard Academy : usca@ B6(-444-8208
RHODE 1SLAND .

1143rd AW Rhode Istand ARN N, Kingstown ANG 401-886-1270
Naval Station Newport USN 401-841-3021

ACHUS! .

102nd PW Massachusetts ANG Otls ANGB ’ L ANG * 508-968-4180
T04th FW Massachusetts ANG Westfleld ) "~ ANG 413-568-8151
3goth Combat Support Hospital Taunton : USAR . 7149612222
435th AW Westover ARB USAER . 413-557-3037
AG HO Massachusetts . . ABNG 8R8-301-3103

* [Fort Devens,Massachusetts . USAR 978-786-2130
Hapscom AFB ) USAF 781-225-1320
USA Soldter Systems Center Natick . . USA 508-233-5007-
USCG Alr Statlon Cape Cod ' . . UsSCG _ 508-968-6318
{SCG 1SC Béston usta 617-223-3264

. HAMPSHIRE .
157th ARW New Hampshire ANG (Wed. Call for APPT.) ANG 603-430-3514
167th Support Group AFRC Londonderry USAR £03-537-8135
AG HQ New Hampshire - ) ARNG © 603-225-1326
Berlin National Guard Aoty - ) ARNG 603-715-3452
porismouth Naval Shipyard ' UsN 207-438-2640
VERMONT )
158TH fw Vermont ANG Burlington 1AP ANG . 802-660-5225
AG HQ Vermont ’ . ,ARNG - 802-338-3135
NRC White River Junctlan USHhR 802-205-6050
MAINE -
101st ARW Maine ANG Bangor IAP , ANG 207-404-7394
52nd Troop Command NRC Bangor . USAR 707-735-1000 - |
AG HQ Maine . ARNG 207-626-4387
DEAS Limestone Fleld Organfzation DFAS 207-328-1116
MG Oliver Otls Hward USAR Center- ) USAR 207-783-0378
Portland National Guard Armory * ARNG 207-430-5497

USCG Sector Northern New England . © o USCo - 207-780-3048




The Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Department of Veterans’ Services
600 Washington Street, 7" Floor
Boston MA 02111
Telephone: (617) 210-5480 Fax: (617) 210-5755
www.mass.gov/veterans

APPLICATION for ANNUITY

Massachusetis General Laws, Chapter 115, Section 64, 6B, and 6C

1. Annuity Category

Untemarried Spouses of Certain Deceased Veterans (death must be service-connected)

2, Applicant’s Full Name:

Last, First, Middle Initial

Address:
Number, Street, Apariment Number, P.O. Box Number
City/Town, State, Zip Code
Telephone: Relationship to Veteran: Wife Husband

Social Security:

3, Veteran’s Full Name (If different from Above):

Last, First, Middle Initiat

Date of Birth:
Month Day Year

Branch of Service:

Period of Active Service: From: / /

Social Security Number:

Service Number:

Grade/Rank:

To: / /

Month Day  Year

Character of Service (Type of Discharge):

Month Day  Year

Veteran’s Home of Record (At time of entry into active Service):

City/State
4. Additional Information Required
Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) File Number:
In detail, state the nature of the disability, and when and where incurred:
Cause of Death: Place and Date of Death:

Name, Address, Relationship of Applicant’s Next of Kin:

The following additional forms shall be filed with this application:
¢ Cerificate of Discharge or Release from Active Service

(DD Form 214)

Marriage Certificate

Death Certificate

Casualty Report of Deceased Veteran (if applicable)

VA/DIC Rating Decision

Request for Verification of Taxation Reporting Form (W-9):
Mandatory and available on website

«  Direct Deposit Form, send to DVS: (MANDATORY)

. & & & &

The law provides severe penalties, which include fine or
imprisonment or both, for the willful submission of any statement
or evidence of a material fact, knowing it to be false or for the
fraudulent acceptance of any payment to which you are not
entitled. Further, I hereby authorize access fo the U.S. Department
of Veterans Affairs information or records to verify information
provided in this application and in support of this request.

[ ¢
P
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Date,




COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
OFFICE OF THE COMPTROLLER
Electronic Funds Transfer Sign Up Form

Request type must be checked: DInitial Request U] Changing Existing Account [ Closing Account

1 __, hereby certify that the account/s indicated on this form is under my direct control and
access; therefore, 1 authorize the State Treasurer as fiscal agent for the State of Massachusetts to initiate, change
or cancel credit entries to that account/s as indicated on this form. For ACH debits consistent with the
International ACH Transaction (IAT) rules check one:
[J1 affirm that payments authorized hereunder are not to an account that is subject to being transferred to
a foreign bank account,
{1 affivm that payments authorized hereunder are to an account that is subject to being transferred to a
foreign bank account.
This authority is to remain in full force and effect until the Office of Comptroller has received written notification,
from cither me or an authorized officer of organization of the account's termination in such time and in such a
manner as to afford CTR a reasonable opportunity fo act upon it.

VENDOR BANK INFORMATION

Vendor Bank Name:

Vendor Bank Transit Number (ABA):
Vendor Bank Account Number:
Account Type:

Filling out this field is a requirement for changing account number
Vendor Bank Old Account Number;
Account Type:

VENDOR INFORMATION

Vendor Tax Identification Number (TIN):
Vendor/Business Name:
Vendor Contact Name:
E-mail:

Telephone:

Address:

City: State: Zip:

This authorization will remain in effect until either canceled in writing or an updated form changing information
is sent to the Department you currently do business with.

AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE:
Print Name: Title: Date:

Form forwarded to Commonwealth Department:
Attached voided check here:

a?
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Please print or type

Form W"g

{Massachusetts Substitute W-9 Form)
Rev. April 2009

Request for Taxpayer
Identification Number and Certification

Completed form should be
given to the requesting
department or the department
you are currently doing
business with.

Name ( List legat name, if jeint names, list first & ¢ircle the name of the parson whose TiN you enterin Part 1-See Specific Instruction on page 2)

Business name, if differeni from above. (See Speci

fic Instruction on page 2)

Check the appropriate hox:

O Individual/Sole proprietor

O Corporation

O Parnership

O Other b

Legal Address: number, street, and apl. or suite no.

suite no.

Remittance Address: # different from legal address number, street, and apt. or

City, state and ZIP code

City, state and ZIP code

Phone # { 3

Fax # ( )

Email address:

Note: if the account is in more than one name,
guidelines on whose number fo enfer.

Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN)

Enter your TIN in the appropriate box. For individuals, this s your social
security number (SSN). However, for a resident alien, sole proprietor, or
disregardsd entity, see the Part I instruction on

page 2. For other entities, it is your employer identification number (EIN). If
you do not have a number, see How to get a TIN on page 2.

see the chart ont page 2 for

Social security number

OO0-DE-00e
Employer Ideng?i‘cation number

LO-CO0000

Vendors:

Dunn and Bradstreet Universal Numbering System (DUNS)

DUNS

AN RN

m Certification

Under penalties of perjury, | certify that:

1. The number shown on this form is my correct taxpayer identification number (or | am waiting for a number to be issued to me), and

2. | am not subject to hackup withholding because: (a} | am exempt from backup withholding, or {(b) | have not been notified by the Internal Revenue
Services (IRS) that | am subject to backup withholding as a result of a failure to report all interest or dividends, or (c) the IRS has notified me that

1 am no longer subject to backup withholdin:

g, and

3. {aman U.S. person (including an U.S. resident alien).

4.
Commission reguirements.

I am currenfly a Commonwealth of Massachusetts's state employee: (check cne): No Yes

If yes, In compliance with the State Ethics

Certification instructions: You must cross out item 2 above if you have been notified by the IRS that you are currently subject to backup withholding
because you have failed to report all interest and dividends on your tax retumn. For real estale transactions, item 2 does not apply.

Sign
Hers

Authorized Signature »

Date 0

Purpose of Form

A person who is required to file an information
return with the IRS must get your correct
taxpayer identification number (TIN) to report, for
example, income paid to you, real estate
transactions, morigage interest you paid,
acquisition or debt, or contributions you made to
an IRA.

Use Form W-9 only if you are a L1.S, person
(including a resident alien), to give your correct
TIN to the person requesting it (the requester)
and , when applicable, to:

1. Certify the TIN you are giving is correct (or
you are vailing for a number to be issued).

2, Certify you are not subject to backup
vithhelding

If you are a foreign person, use the
appropriate Form W-8. See Pub 515,
Withholding of Tax on Nonresident Aliens and
Foreign Corporations.

What is backup withholding? Persons making
certain payments to you must withhold a
designated percentage, currenily 28% and pay to
the IRS of such payments under certain

conditions. This is called "backup vithholding.”
Payments that may be subject to backup
withholding include interest, dividends, broker and
barter exchange transactions, rents, royalties,
nonemployee pay, and certain payments from
fishing boat operators. Real estate transactions
are not subject to backup withholding.

If you give the requester your correct TIN, make
the proper certifications, and report all your
taxable interest and dividends on your tax return,
payments you receive will not be subject to
backup withholding. Payments you receive will
be subject to backup withholding if:

1. You do not furnish your TiN to the
requester, or

2. You do not certify your TIN when required
{ses tha Part Il instructions on page 2 for
details), or

3. The IRS tells the requester that you fumished
anincarrect TIN, or

4. The IRS tells you that you are subject 1o
backup withhelding because you did not
report all your interest and dividends only), or

5. You do not certify to the requester that you are
not subject fo backup withholding under 4 above
(for reportable interest and dividend accounts
opened after 1983 only).

Certain payees and payments are exempt from
backup vithholding. See the Part il instructions
on page 2.

Penalties

Failure to furnish TIN. If you fail to furnish your
correct TIN to a requester, you are subjectto a
penalty of $50 for each such failure unless your
failure is due to reasonable cause and not to
villful neglect.

Civil penalty for false information with respect
to withholding. If you make a false statement
with no reasonable basis that results in no backup
withholding, you are subject to & $500 penalty.

Criminal penalty for falsifying information.
Willfully falsifying cedifications or affirmations
may subject you to criminal penalties including
fines and/or imprisonment.

Misuse of TINs. If the requester discloses or uses
TiNs in viclation of Federal law, the requester may
be subject to ¢ivil and criminal penalties.

Form MA- W-9 (Rev. April 2009)




Specific Instructions

Name. Ifyou are an individual, you must
genesally enter the name shown on your social
security card. However, if you have changed
your last name, for instance, due to marrage
without informing the Social Security
Administralion of the name change, enter your
first name, the last name showm on your sodial
security card, and your new last name,

If the account is in joint names, list first and
then circle the name of the person or entity
whose number you enter in Part 1 of the form.

Sole proprietor. Enter your individual name
as shown on your social security card on the
‘Name’ line. You may enter your business,
trade, or "doing business as (DBA)" name on
the "Business name” line.

Limited liability company (LLC}. Ifyou are a
single-member LLC (including a foreign LLG
with a domestic owner) that is disregarded as
an enlity separate from its owner under
Treasury regulations section 301.7701-3, enter
the owner's name on the “Name” line. Enter
the LLC's name on the "Business name” line.

Caution: A disregarded domestic entity that
has a foreign owner must use the appropriate
Form W-8,

Other entities. Enter your business name as
showm on required Federal tax documents on
the “Name” line. This name should maltch the
name shown on the charter or other legal
document creating the enfity. You may enter
any business, trade, or DBA name on the
“Business name’ line,

- Taxpayer Identification
Number (TIN)

Enter your TIN in the appropriate
hox.

If you are a resident alien and you do not
have and ars not eligible to get an SSN, your
TIN is your IRS individual taxpayer
identification number (ITIN). Enter it in the
social security number box. If you do not have
an [TiN, see How to get a TIN below,

if you are a scole proprietor and you have an
EIN, you may enter either your SSN or EIN.
Howavar, the IRS prefers that you use your
SSN. Lo

If you are an LLGC that is disregarded as an
entity separate from its owner (see Limited
liability company {L1.C) above)}, and are
owned by an individual, enter your SSN (or
“pre-LLC” EiN, if desired). If the ownerof a
disregarded LLG is a corporation, partnership,
elc., enter the cwner’s EIN,

Note: See the chart on this page for further
clarification of name and TIN combinations.

How to get a TIN. fyou co not have a
TIN, apply for one immediately. To apply for an
SSN, get Form 8S-5, Applicalion for a Social
Security Card, from your local Social Security
Administration office. Get Form W-7, Application
for IRS Individual Taxpayer Identification Number,
to apply for an ITIN or Form §8-4, Application for
Employer [dentification Number, to apply for an
EIN. You can get Forms W-7 and $S-4 from the
IRS by calling 1-800-TAX-FORM (1-800-828-
3678) or from the IRS's Internat Web Site

If you do not have a TIN, write “Applied For® in
the space for the TIN, sign and date the form, and
give it to the requestar. For interest and dividend
payments, and cerfain paymants made with
respect to readily radable instruments, generally
you will have 60 days to get a TIN and give it to
the requester before you are subject to backup
withholding on payments.

The 60-day rule does not apply to other types of
paymenls. You vill be subject to backup
withholding on all such payments until you
provide your TIN to the requaster.

Note: Wiiting “Applied For* means that you have
aiready applied for a TIN or that you intend fo
apply for ona soon.

GERAR - Certification

To establish to the paying agent that your TIN is
correct or you are a U.S. person, or resident
alien, sign Form W-9,

For a joint account, only the person whole TIN is
shown in Part 1 should sign (when required).

Real estate transactions, You must sign the
cerlification. You may cross out item 2 of the
certification,

Dunn and Bradstreat Universal Numbering

Systern {DUNS) ber requi t—

The United States Office of Management and Budget
(OMB) requires all vendors that receive federal grant
funds have thefr DUNS number recorded with and
subsequently reported to the granting agency. if a
contraclor has muitiple DUNS numbers the
conlractor should provide the primary number listed
with the Federal government's Central Contractor
Registration (CCR) at ferwwi cor oy . Any entity that
does not have a DUNS number can apply for one on-
line at ffc: A dnk comvus

undsr the DNB D-U-N Number Tab.

Privacy Act Notice

Section 6109 of the Internal Revenue Code
requires you to give your correct TIN to persons
who must file information returns with the IRS to
report interest, dividends, and certain other
income paid to you, mortgage interest you paid,
the acquisition or abandonmant of secured
property, cancellation of debi, or contributions
you made to an IRA or MSA. The IRS uses the
numbers for identification purposes and to help
verify the accuracy of your tax return. The IRS
may also provide this information to the
Department of Justice for civil and criminal
litigation, and to cities, states, and the District of
Columbia to carry out thair tax laws

You must provide your TIN whether or not you
are required o file a tax return, Payers must
generally vithhold a designated percentage,
currently 28% of taxable interest, dividend, and
certain other payments to a payee who does not
give a TIN to a payer. Certain penalties may also
apply.

What Name and Number to
Give the Requester

For this type of account:

Give name and SSN of:

1. Individual The Individual
2. Two or more The actual owner of the
Individuals (joint account or, if combined
account) funds, the first
individual on the
account
3. Custodian accountof | The minor 2

a minor (Uniform Gift
to Minors Act)
4.  a. Theusual
revocable savings
trust (grantor is
also trustee)
So-called trust
account that is not
a legal or valid
trust under slate
law
5. Sole proprietorship

The grantor-rustee !

The aclual oveer '

=

The owner 3

Far this type of account: Give name and EiN of:

The owner ~

8.  Sole propristorship
Legal entity *

7. Avalid trust, estate, or
pension frust

8. Corporate

9.  Association, club,
religious, charitable,
educational, or other
tax-exempt organization

10. Partnership

11.  Abroker or registered
nominee

12, Account with the
Department of
Agriculture in the name
of a public entity (such
as a state or local
government, school
district, or prison) that
receivas agricultural
program payments

The corporation
The organization

The partnership
The broker or nominee

The public entity

TList first and cirele the name of the person whose
number you furnpish. if only one person on a joint
account has an S8N, that person's number must be
furnished.

2Circle the minor's name and fumish the minor's SSN,

3 You must show your individual name, but you may
also enter your business or “DBA” name. You may
use eithar your SSN or EIN (if you have one).

#, List first and circle the name of the legal trust, estate,
or pension trust. (Do not furnish the TIN of the
personal representative or trustes unless the legal
entity itseif is not designated in the account title.)

Note: if no name is circled when more than one name
is listed, the number wili be considered to be that of
the first name listed.

If you have questions on completing this form,
please contact the Office of the State Comptrolier.
(617) 973-2468.

Upon completion of this form, please
send it to the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts Department you are
doing business with.

Page 2
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Veterans with Long Term Health Conditions

https://www.vets.gov/health-care/about-va-health-care/assisted-living-and-home-health-care/

What if I have a disability or chronic (long-term) health condition, but I want to stay in my home?

If you’re signed up for VA health care, you can get help managing your disability or health condition while
living at home. The services you qualify for will depend on your needs and whether a service is available in
your area. If you need to, you may be able to use more than 1 service at the same time.

Learn more about:

Home-based primary care A VA health care team, led by a VA doctor, who provides services (like nursing care,
physical therapy, and help with daily tasks) in your home

Homemaker/home health aide (H/HHA) services A trained caregiver (supervised by a registered nurse) who
comes into your home to help you care for yourself

Adult day health care A program you can go to during the day for social activities, companionship, and
recreation as well as care and support

Hospice care Skilled caregivers who come into your home to provide comfort care to you and your family. You
qualify for hospice care if you have a terminal condition (a condition that can’t be treated), with less than 6
months to live, and you’re no longer seeking treatment other than to ease pain.

Palliative care Skilled caregivers who come into your home to provide comfort care to help ease your pain and
control your symptoms so you can do as much as possible in your daily life


https://www.va.gov/GERIATRICS/Guide/LongTermCare/Home_Based_Primary_Care.asp
https://www.va.gov/GERIATRICS/Guide/LongTermCare/Homemaker_and_Home_Health_Aide_Care.asp
https://www.va.gov/Geriatrics/guide/longtermcare/Adult_Day_Health_Care.asp
https://www.va.gov/GERIATRICS/Guide/LongTermCare/Hospice_Care.asp
https://www.va.gov/GERIATRICS/Guide/LongTermCare/Palliative_Care.asp

